In details



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Aquatic biome

Introduction - what it is

In ecology a biome is called a biological community, that is, fauna and flora and their interactions with each other and with the physical environment: soil, water and air.

Biotic area and the main characteristics of biomes

Biotic area is a geographical area occupied by a biome, ie regions with the same type of climate and vegetation. However, a biome may have one or more predominant vegetation.

Although they may have different animals and plants, it is known that there are many similarities between the landscapes of different continents, this is due to the influence of macroclimate (soil type, substrate condition and other physical factors).

According to some, the five most important types of biomes are: aquatic, desert, forest, undergrowth and tundra (vegetation from the organic material that appears in the short thawing period of the polar climate regions).

However, some go a little further in this classification. According to them, only in Brazil there are six different types of biomes, namely: Amazon Rainforest, Cerrado, Pantanal, Caatinga, Atlantic Forest and Coastal Zones.

There is also a classification for aquatic biomes, which are divided into freshwater and marine biomes, ie those belonging to seawater.

Ecological curiosity:

- The Earth's biome comprises the biosphere.